Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Intensive English Language Program (IELP)

English as a second language (ESL), English as a new language (ENL), English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL), English as an additional language (EAL), English as a foreign language (EFL), English Language Learners (ELL), Emergent Bilinguals (EBs)

Heinle's Newbury House Dictionary of American English

Heinle's Newbury House Dictionary of American English contains over 40,000 entries.

With simple, clear definitions, this online tool provides a wealth of sample sentences and idioms.

  • Activity Guide in printable PDF for crosswords, crossword challenges, and quizzes.

Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English

The Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English (LDOCE)

  • 5,000 natural examples bring English to life
  • British and American pronunciations of headwords, including people and place names
  • NEW 88,000 spoken example sentences pronounced on the CD-ROM
  • 1 million additional sentences from books and newspapers
  • 3000 most frequent words in spoken and written English highlighted
  • 4000 new words and meanings
  • Includes an instructional guide

Merriam Webster Dictionary

     

The Merriam Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus is an online dictionary and thesaurus.  In addition to definitions, synonyms, homynyms, etc., there are many fun learning tools that  include

  • Games
  • Language trends
  • " Word of the day"
  • Language rights and issues
  • Grammar tips
  • Videos
  • History of a word/s
  • Confusing words
  • Quizzes
  • Scrabble

A user-friendly way to learn new English words and expressions.