Geography

Software, data and geographic base map files created by the Department of City Planning

New York State's collection of data for maps by county.

Provides tables and boundary files for historical demographic, economic and other kinds of data. You will need to create a free account to use this resource.

The US Census Bureau's site offering shapefiles containing census and community survey demographic and economic data.

Source for public data generated by NYC agencies. Includes data on business, government, education, health, housing, public safety, transportation and more.

Data.gov is an online portal to share data from various government agencies, which can be downloaded and manipulated for public use and re-use. Data.gov enables the public to download datasets to conduct analysis, build web applications, and conduct research.

New York State's data from all its various departments.

A searchable database of satellite imagery and other geographical data across the world.

Maps collected by the Library of Congress that record the evolution of cities.

The Library of Congress's collection of bird's eye view maps of cities, a popular method of cartography in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

The Library of Congress's collection of maps of transportation and communication systems on national, state, and local levels.

A valuable resource for historical maps of all kinds

A collaboration between Klokan Technologies and the Great British Historical GIS project this site indexes over 400,000 maps from various archives and libraries onto the world map.

From the University of North Texas, maps digitized from their collection as well as links to other maps of interest.