Sociology

CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise

The platform where the Census Bureau posts its data for use. You can get tables, maps, visualizations or other data about the population of the United States. This is the platform replacing American FactFinder

Provides researchers with raw (unanalyzed) data collected by the federal government.

Data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. Tables can be downloaded in text or spreadsheet formats. Divided into sections by: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, government and international relations.

An international consortium of research organizations and academic institutions maintains this searchable archive of data and statistics.

Comprehensive annual collection of statistics from all U.S. government agencies and select international and state statistics. Ceased publication in 2012

Portal with access to U.S. government & agency data.

Statistics covering the people and economy of the United States.

The Atlas provides data on demographic change, racial inclusion, and equity at a city, state and national level

A large collection of writings by incarcerated Americans about their experience inside prison. Essays can be searched and browsed by information about the author or prison.

Provides statistics on crime trends, homicide trends and characteristics, law enforcement management and administrative details, and lists of prosecutors' offices.

Highlights links to major reports such as: Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted.

A project by the Sunlight Foundation to try and collect criminal justice data across differing government institutions as well as academic and policy reports. Browse function currently works better than search function.

The archive offers a user-friendly interface to download data on criminal justice. The site includes Quick Tables of statistics and an online analysis tool, Data Analysis System (DAS).

This site contains links to statistics on topics related to criminal justice

Reports, statistics, and data regarding the juvenile justice system in the United States.

Contains resources for communities and law enforcement, as well as criminal justice services for New York State.

Data about criminal justice in the United States. More than 600 tables of statistics on topics including correctional facilities, police and sheriffs' departments, judges, nature and distribution of known offenses.

Data generated by various New York City agencies and other City organizations available for public use. As part of an initiative to improve the accessibility, transparency, and accountability of City government, this catalog offers access to a repository of government-produced, machine-readable data sets.

Local, state and federal data in one place. Search the site's datasets by location or subject, or explore featured datasets and the full catalog below.

The NYPD's official statistics and policy page

A non partisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.

An independent non-partisan resource on trends in American public opinion

A resource for what questions should be asked about poll results to determine what information they have.

One of the best known sources on public opinion polling information.

Search through the polling group's archive based on topic, year, and several different subject groups.