The Brooklyn Historical Society has a noncirculating library with many historical resources for Brooklyn, as well as archival items on the boroughs history, and a digitized photo collection. You can browse their catalog and look at some of their digitized collection online
Digital Culture of Metropolitan New York (DCMNY) provides online access to digital collections of libraries, archives, museums and historical societies located in and around New York City. Participating institutions are located in the following counties of New York State: Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, and Westchester.
The New-York Historical Society, one of America’s pre-eminent cultural institutions, is dedicated to fostering research, presenting history and art exhibitions, and public programs that reveal the dynamism of history and its influence on the world of today.
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). These are a large, comprehensive collection of early English news media. The collection helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press".
Full-text, digital archive of papers originating in England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland, selected by an editorial board from the British Library and providing a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century.
New Readerships, charts the rapid rise of publishing in a reading culture expanding with the rise in literary and leisure. The political spectrum of women's writing from offers insight into women's changing status in the 1800s. Satirical and comic titles illustrate the humor of the period. This release also charts the growth of children's entertainment and education and track the explosion in sports and hobbies, from gardening to horse racing, cricket, cycling and golf.
Empire covers the expansion of the Empire, addressing the economic as well as the non-mercantile aspects of British expansionism. Drawing from the remarkable collections of the British Library, National Library of Scotland, National Library of Australia and National Library of South Africa, titles include Capital and Labour, Liberty Review, The Canadian Journal, The Friend of India, The Asiatic Review and Colonial Chronicle.
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
With an additional 22 publications, Part II further extends the regional reach of the collection and the political views represented. The inclusion of more politically conservative titles such as The Standard and The Morning Post balances the more progressive, liberal views held by several of the titles in Part I. Other significant regions covered in Part II include Bradford, Nottingham, Sheffield, York, and North Wales.
Access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop a searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. The newspapers on the New York State Historic Newspapers website are either in the public domain or have been cleared for usage by the original copyright holder for members of the public for noncommercial, educational, and research purposes.