Urban Studies

The platform where the Census Bureau posts its data for use. You can get tables, maps, visualizations or other data about the population of the United States. This is the platform replacing American FactFinder

Data.gov is an online portal to share data from various government agencies, which can be downloaded and manipulated for public use and re-use. Data.gov enables the public to download datasets to conduct analysis, build web applications, and conduct research.

Provides data from surveys, public finance, and other statistical analyses for cities. Note the data only goes to 2012, so more useful for historical questions.

Creates maps and charts based on US Census and American Community Survey data.

Data tools provided by the U.S. Census Bureau to let you produce charts, tables or maps with census or trade data.

Software, data and geographic base map files created by the Department of City Planning

A project of the NYU Furman Center, this site contains a wealth of housing and demographic data for NYC

Contains GIS information as well as Environment and Health Data, Birth and Death records for NYC

Contains district profiles, community plans, budgets and demographic trends for all of NYC's community boards.

Find out information on bills being considered in the state assembly, on assembly members, and on the results of legislative reports

Find your state senator and see bills being considered in the state senate

Easy access to the U.S. Census Bureau population information for New York City allowing you to search for specific locations and see surrounding areas on a map.

Source for public data generated by NYC agencies. Includes data on business, government, education, health, housing, public safety, transportation and more.

Information on services, programs, agencies and the office of the Mayor of New York City

Comprehensive database which includes most major statistical resources of international statistics from the United Nations.

Fulltext database of UNDP project documents from the 1990s-present

A directory by the U.S. Census Bureau of all international agencies that compile statistics for their countries.

Datasets from the World Bank including economic, development, debt, climate change and other information.

A data and visualization tool from the UN Statistics division to track countries' development indicators

Information on state and local governments across the country. To be noted, it is from every 5 years, and the most recent is 2012 but this can give you information on what agencies or data is being used at state and local levels.

Statistics for all states & counties and cities or towns with a population of 5,000 or more about population, demographics and businesses.

Visit the websites for cities, counties, towns, and local communities