O'Malley Library: Political Science: The Court System

The Supreme Court

Oyez
a free-law site from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Chicago-Kent College of Law and Justia.com containing audio of cases since 1995, and plain-language case summaries going back to 1789.
Supreme Court of the United States
The Supreme Court's official website. Contains information on cases, opinions, arguments, justices past and present.
The Supreme Court Yearbook
CQ Press's database of coverage and analysis of Supreme Court decisions from 1989-present.

Connecticut Judicial Branch
The official website of the Connecticut state court system, with information on different legal processes, directories to state legal resources, and justice statistics.
New Jersey Courts
Contains information on programs run by the court, court procedures, and news about events at the court.
NYCourts.Gov
The official website of the New York State Unified Court System
RECAP Archive
Federal appellate, district and bankruptcy court data is stored in PACER which has come under fire from open-government advocates as while it is accessible, it also costs 10 cents a page. RECAP was the response to this, adding information to its archives as users submit cases they've paid to download from PACER's archives. As the information was supposed to be publicly accessible, this project aims to also make it freely accessible, one document at a time.
Understanding Federal Courts
A resource from USCourts.gov to explain the jurisdiction of federal courts

Legal Information Institute
A collection of law resources from Cornell University that also includes introductory materials on different kinds of law and primary sources on U.S. and world law

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.