Skip to Main Content
The Federal Government
Search this Guide
Research Guide for political science
Books, E-Books & Media
US Government Information Sources
The Federal Government
Congress & Federal Legislation
The Court System
State & Local Sources
Sources on International Governments
Library Research Tutorial
Integrating Your Research Into Your Project
Contact the Library
Ask a question
Request a consultation
Federal Agencies & Regulations
All regulations being put out by federal agencies must appear in the Federal Register
Comment and see comments on proposed regulations. A good place to see what arguments are being made for or against regulations.
A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
An index of U.S. departments and agencies
Official US Executive Branch Web Sites
The Library of Congress's listing of websites for Executive Agencies
United States Government Manual
Information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial and executive branches, commissions and committees, and international organizations the U.S. participates in.
Hathitrust US Federal Documents Registry
The HathiTrust US Federal Government Documents Registry is the as-yet database of metadata representing the comprehensive corpus of U.S. federal documents produced from 1789 to the present.
The search engine of the Catalog of U.S. Government publications and multiple Federal government databases
The search engine for the U.S. Government Publishing Office
Federal Government Archival Information
CIA Electronic Reading Room
A collection of declassified or FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) disclosed CIA documents
Defense Intelligence Agency FOIA Electronic Reading Room
Records that have been declassified or released from FOIA. Only searchable by country or keyword
A collection on the Internet Archive of research and publications by government organizations from the United States and around the world.
Department of State Document Search
You can search by title or browse by collection for this group of declassified Department of State documents
Foreign Relations of the United States (1861-1960)
A digitized collection from the University of Wisconsion of the Foreign Relations of the United States documents from 1861-1960.
Foreign Relations of the United States (1945- 1991)
From the U.S. State Department, the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and diplomatic activity. From the Truman administration to the Reagan administration.
National Archives Electronic Reading Room
Recently posted FOIA request and commonly requested documents like digitized FBI files, census records, prison records, and operational records for the National Archives themselves
National Security Archive
A project of journalists and scholars to collect declassified documents, also contains online essays and exhibits on government actions.
Federal Agency Statistical Information
Provides researchers with raw (unanalyzed) data collected by the federal government.
Information on spending by federal agencies
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive annual collection of statistics from all U.S. government agencies and select international and state statistics. Ceased publication in 2012
Creates maps and charts based on US Census and American Community Survey data.
The platform where the Census Bureau posts its data for use. You can get tables, maps, visualizations or other data about the population of the United States. This is the platform replacing American FactFinder
Congress & Federal Legislation >>
May 15, 2023 12:23 PM
Login to LibApps
School of Liberal Arts