History

Contains FBI reports, newsletters, and position papers, as well as an overview on the leading antiwar organizations during the Vietnam War era. Covers every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW) as well as reports on surveillance of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on campus groups like Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) and Communist organizations. In-depth reports include surveillance of national and steering committee meetings where decisions and elections took place.

This collection of histories and personal narratives, compiled primarily between the end of the war and 1920, chronicles the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865.

Contains documents about the internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and movements to change American government and society. Coverage includes: COINTELPRO: The Counterintelligence Program of the FBI, and FBI files on Abbie Hoffman, Malcolm X, the Black Panther Party (North Carolina), Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, the Fire Bombing and Shooting at Kent State University, Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, and Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference.

Between the early 1920s and early 1980s, the FBI enlisted "confidential special informants" to infiltrate a variety of political organizations. The reports provide detail that can be found nowhere else. Includes FBI files on COINTELPRO: Black Nationalist "Hate" Groups, A. Philip Randolph, Adam Clayton Powell, the Black Panther Party, North Carolina, Elijah Muhammed, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), the NAACP, Paul Robeson, the Reverend Jesse Jackson, Roy Wilkins, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Thurgood Marshall, W. E. B. Du Bois, Malcolm X, and Marcus Garvey.

This collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Much of the non-legal material in this collection is based on the magnificent holdings of the Buffalo Public Library. Its rare book collection contains hundreds of nineteenth century pamphlets and books on slavery.

Primary sources including correspondence and reports tied to Myron Taylor, the presidents's representative to the Vatican explore America's relations with the Vatican during World War II and the Holocaust. Materials focus on political affairs, Jews, refugee and relief activities, German-owned property in Rome, property rights, and the Vatican Bank. Covers Italian concentration camps, deportation of Jews and other minorities, Vatican Bank activities, war crimes, refugee relief, Protestant-Catholic relations, ecclesia, Italian fascism and the Church, displaced persons in Eastern Europe following the end of WW II, German assets in Italy and adjudication of claims, and Communism in Eastern Europe and the Christian Left Movement.