O'Malley Library: DAsH: Example DAsH or DH Projects

Intro

Digital humanities projects can take many forms, from a large interactive online archive, to digital annotations or exhibitions, to journal articles reporting the results of applying an algorithm or other analysis technique to humanistic studies.

A large international collection can be found on the Around the DH in 80 Days website

Below are just some examples of the kinds of digital humanities projects that can be done. This section of the site will attempt to be kept up to date but you may notice that some of these links go down. This is an important thing to keep in mind as you work on your project, what are your plans to keep it hosted and afloat past your exam times? Are you sure that your data will still be usable if you try to revisit your project in a few years, or even a semesters' time?

Digital Exhibits or Thematic Research Collections

Last Seen
A project of the University of Villanova that attempts to catalog the multiple "information wanted" ads taken out in newspapers after the Civil War by former enslaved people trying to find their relatives. Transcriptions are solicited by crowd-sourcing, and the results are mapped.
Mapping Inequality: Redlining in New Deal America
Interactive maps and browsable descriptions of the discriminatory policies known as 'redlining' that shaped the cities of America.
Railroads and the Making of Modern America
A collection of data and different analysis tools (mapping, topic modeling, word clouds) for materials related to the effects of the railroad on the United States in the 19th century.
Sherlockian.net
A bibliographic portal at the University of Michigan of information and scholarly works regarding Arthur Conan Doyle's creation, Sherlock Holmes
Virtual St. Paul's Cathedral Project
3D models of St. Paul's Cathedral in London in the 17th century complete with acoustical mockups of how sermons would sound there.
William Blake Archive
An annotated online collection of William Blake's artwork and poetry, one of the first online research collections.

Mapping Projects

Hurricane Digital Memory Bank
A collection of images, stories, and oral histories in the Gulf Coast area of the Hurricane Katrina and Rita devastation.
Mapping Emotions in Victorian London
A project of the Stanford Literary Lab to map different areas of London as mentioned in Victorian literature.
Mapping Occupation
A project of the University of Georgia that contains maps and supplementary text on where troops were stationed in the South during the Reconstruction era.
Mapping the Greenbook
A project affiliated with the New York Public Library that combines the digitization of the library's collection of editions of the Green Book (from 1937-1964), and a mapping platform. The Green Books were a series of directories compiled by Victor Green, of establishments where African American travelers would be welcome and safe. This project allows viewers to see how different the experience of travel in the United States could be depending on the color of the traveler's skin.
US NewsMap.com
A project of the Georgia Research Institute and the University of Georgia that searches the Library of Congress's historic newspaper collection that maps where the results are and graphs how the term occurs over time.

Text Analysis

Ted Underwood, David Bamman, and Sabrina Lee, "The Transformation of Gender in English-Language Fiction," Cultural Analytics Feb. 13, 2018
A large examination of the Hathitrust and Chicago Novel corpuses to explore the percentage of authors by gender over time, the percentage of speaking time by characters of each gender, and what terms were used to describe characters of each gender as well as the dialogue they spoke
Matthias Mauch, Robert M. MacCallum, Mark Levy and Armand M. Leroi."The evolution of popular music: USA 1960–2010".Royal Society Open Science, 2015.
An analysis of the stylistic changes of popular music from the Billboard charts from the British Invasion to 2010, pinpointing periods of extreme change.
E Thomas Ewing, “The Two Diseases Are So Utterly Dissimilar”: Using Digital Humanities Tools to Advance Scholarship in the Global History of Medicine. Current Research in Digital History, 1., 2018
A study of newspapers and medical journals in 1889 regarding their reporting of an influenza epidemic to look at the spread of information and misinformation about the outbreak.
Andrew Goldstone & Ted Underwood. "The Quiet Transformations of Literary Studies: What Thirteen Thousand Scholars Could Tell Us." New Literary History, vol. 45 no. 3, 2014
An example of how topic modeling can be used on a large corpus of literature
Kevin L. Ferguson "Digital Surrealism: Visualizing Walt Disney Animation Studios". Digital Humanities Quarterly (2017)
Not all texts that can be analyzed digitally consist of words, this study looks at how digital tools can be used to examine a film as a whole, and what the blended image can tell you about its color schemes, frame composition and how those compare to other movies.
How Kanye's Vocabulary Stacks Up to Shakespeare's
An Atlantic article linking to a research project letting you visualize the differing vocabularies of different hip hop artists compared to each other and to Shakespeare.

Network Analysis

Kindred Britain
A Stanford University project that lets you view how nearly 30,000 different prominent British historical figures across history are connected to each other through family, marital or other relationships.
Philosopher's Web
A project by Grant Oliveira using a text mining of Wikipedia information regarding philosopher's reported influences to trace the line of influence from one philosopher to another.
Viral Texts
A project containing visualizations and analyses of news items "going viral" in 19th century newspapers.
Shakeosphere
A project of the University of Iowa libraries mapping the networks of authors, publishers, booksellers and printers in early modern Britain.

DAsH

Subject Librarian

Contact Us

Intro

Digital Exhibits or Thematic Research Collections

Mapping Projects

Text Analysis

Network Analysis