O'Malley Library: Critical Race & Ethnic Studies: Find Articles

Discovery

Discovery Search

Search for books, articles, online resources, and more!

Databases |

Journal List

Scholarly Article Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR stands for Journal Storage and is an electronic archive of leading journals across many academic disciplines. Subscribed collections include Arts & Sciences I - VIII, Ireland, and Life Sciences. There are embargos of between 3-5 years for most journal titles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Project MUSE - Basic College Collection This link opens in a new window
A leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Academic equivalent of Google search, with links to the full text of journals held by our library. Includes some content not available through the standard version of Google.

Subject-Specific Databases

Education Database This link opens in a new window
Access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) includes more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including: journals, television and radio broadcasts,newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Access to leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Journals from the American Psychological Association. Coverage of all subject areas relevant to psychological science including basic/experimental psychology, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, education and school psychology, health psychology, industrial/organizational psychology, social psychology and social processes.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive international bibliographic database of psychology. It contains citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Sociology-Specific Databases

Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Collection reforms the research process for researchers who are: studying law or law enforcement, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in Homeland Security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.

How to Read Academic Articles (includes video)

Reading scholarly articles is challenging. Follow these tips as you peruse your articles.

Start by examining the structure and format of the article. Most scholarly, peer-reviewed articles have the same or similar structure. Many contain data and findings.

Abstract (summary of the whole article
Introduction (why they did the research)
Methodology (how they did the research)
Results (what happened; identify the findings)
Discussion (what the results mean)
Conclusion (what they learned)
References (whose research they read)

Read the abstract and conclusion first, as these have the main points.
Read the discussion next. This will give you a longer report on the findings and their implications.
At this point, if you're sure the article has what you need, start at the beginning and read the whole thing through, taking notes as you go.

Taking Notes on Scholarly Articles

Critical Race & Ethnic Studies

Subject Librarian

Contact Us

Discovery

Scholarly Article Databases

Subject-Specific Databases

Sociology-Specific Databases

How to Read Academic Articles (includes video)