Critical Race & Ethnic Studies

Contains FBI reports, newsletters, and position papers, as well as an overview on the leading antiwar organizations during the Vietnam War era. Covers every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW) as well as reports on surveillance of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on campus groups like Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) and Communist organizations. In-depth reports include surveillance of national and steering committee meetings where decisions and elections took place.

Written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

Non-profit and non-partisan database of presidential documents, recordings and videos dealing with current and historical information on American presidents from 1789 to present.

Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

Features select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history and focused on six different phases of Black Freedom: Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932), The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975), The Contemporary Era (1976-2000). This database supports a wide range of students interested in learning about the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. – and the fights against it.

This collection of histories and personal narratives, compiled primarily between the end of the war and 1920, chronicles the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865.

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.

An educational consortium of American libraries with collections of pre-modern manuscripts, or manuscripts made in the tradition of books before printing. The DS database represents these manuscript collections in a web-based union catalog for teaching and scholarly research in medieval and Renaissance studies. It provides access to illuminated and textual manuscripts through online cataloging records, supported by high resolution digital images, retrievable by various topic searches.

Contains documents about the internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and movements to change American government and society. Coverage includes: COINTELPRO: The Counterintelligence Program of the FBI, and FBI files on Abbie Hoffman, Malcolm X, the Black Panther Party (North Carolina), Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, the Fire Bombing and Shooting at Kent State University, Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, and Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference.

Between the early 1920s and early 1980s, the FBI enlisted "confidential special informants" to infiltrate a variety of political organizations. The reports provide detail that can be found nowhere else. Includes FBI files on COINTELPRO: Black Nationalist "Hate" Groups, A. Philip Randolph, Adam Clayton Powell, the Black Panther Party, North Carolina, Elijah Muhammed, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), the NAACP, Paul Robeson, the Reverend Jesse Jackson, Roy Wilkins, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Thurgood Marshall, W. E. B. Du Bois, Malcolm X, and Marcus Garvey.

A partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge.

HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.

Data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. Tables can be downloaded in text or spreadsheet formats. Divided into sections by: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, government and international relations.

Nonprofit digital library with the stated mission of "universal access to all knowledge." It provides free public access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, software applications/games, music, movies/videos, moving images, and nearly three million public-domain books.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Offers over 53,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

This collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Much of the non-legal material in this collection is based on the magnificent holdings of the Buffalo Public Library. Its rare book collection contains hundreds of nineteenth century pamphlets and books on slavery.

Primary sources including correspondence and reports tied to Myron Taylor, the presidents's representative to the Vatican explore America's relations with the Vatican during World War II and the Holocaust. Materials focus on political affairs, Jews, refugee and relief activities, German-owned property in Rome, property rights, and the Vatican Bank. Covers Italian concentration camps, deportation of Jews and other minorities, Vatican Bank activities, war crimes, refugee relief, Protestant-Catholic relations, ecclesia, Italian fascism and the Church, displaced persons in Eastern Europe following the end of WW II, German assets in Italy and adjudication of claims, and Communism in Eastern Europe and the Christian Left Movement.

A digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.