Critical Race & Ethnic Studies

The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). These are a large, comprehensive collection of early English news media. The collection helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press".

Full-text, digital archive of papers originating in England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland, selected by an editorial board from the British Library and providing a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century.

New Readerships, charts the rapid rise of publishing in a reading culture expanding with the rise in literary and leisure. The political spectrum of women's writing from offers insight into women's changing status in the 1800s. Satirical and comic titles illustrate the humor of the period. This release also charts the growth of children's entertainment and education and track the explosion in sports and hobbies, from gardening to horse racing, cricket, cycling and golf.

Empire covers the expansion of the Empire, addressing the economic as well as the non-mercantile aspects of British expansionism. Drawing from the remarkable collections of the British Library, National Library of Scotland, National Library of Australia and National Library of South Africa, titles include Capital and Labour, Liberty Review, The Canadian Journal, The Friend of India, The Asiatic Review and Colonial Chronicle.

Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.

With an additional 22 publications, Part II further extends the regional reach of the collection and the political views represented. The inclusion of more politically conservative titles such as The Standard and The Morning Post balances the more progressive, liberal views held by several of the titles in Part I. Other significant regions covered in Part II include Bradford, Nottingham, Sheffield, York, and North Wales.

Access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop a searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.

Delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2013. Full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of the world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2010, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.

Contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of Forbes, beginning with its first issue in 1917 and ending in December 2000.

Cross-search all your Gale newspaper archives using a single interface.

The world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, it allowed readers to not only read about British and world events but to actually see them. From war and disasters to politics and the arts, it provided a vivid view of the people, places and events that, until then, most of its readers could only imagine.

The Listener was a weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929 under its Director-General Lord Reith. It was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine, Radio Times. Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks — initially on radio, but in later years television as well - The Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts.

Brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform that fits the way today's students and patrons conduct their research. With standard library features and functionality common to many Gale resources, National Geographic Virtual Library is a powerful tool for research through the 100+ years of quality publications.

National Review (NR) is a semimonthly magazine founded by author William F. Buckley, Jr., in 1955 and based in New York City. A source for conservative news, commentary, and opinion.

The Nation is the oldest continuously published weekly magazine in the United States. The periodical covers politics and culture from a liberal perspective.

For access to New York Times Digital, full access to the NYTimes.com page and the NY Times smart phone app, register with your Manhattan University email address.

The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. The newspapers on the New York State Historic Newspapers website are either in the public domain or have been cleared for usage by the original copyright holder for members of the public for noncommercial, educational, and research purposes.

The Picture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour.

First published in 1902, the Times Literary Supplement is the only literary weekly to offer comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications, in every subject, in several languages as well as reviewing current, theatre, cinema, music and exhibitions.

Provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) includes more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including: journals, television and radio broadcasts,newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.