O'Malley Library: Communication: Databases and Articles

Core Communication Databases

Communications and Mass Media Collection
Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
PsycINFO

Comprehensive international bibliographic database of psychology. It contains citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Additional Useful Databases

Google Scholar
Academic equivalent of Google search, with links to the full text of journals held by our library. Includes some content not available through the standard version of Google.
JSTOR
JSTOR stands for Journal Storage and is an electronic archive of leading journals across many academic disciplines. Subscribed collections include Arts & Sciences I - VIII, Ireland, and Life Sciences. There are embargos of between 3-5 years for most journal titles.
MLA International Bibliography
A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
Oxford Music Online
With Grove® Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music, which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition, which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users.
Project MUSE - Basic College Collection
A leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
ScienceDirect
Provides access to a large database of scientific and medical research. The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Newspaper Databases

InfoTrac Newsstand
Provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
New York Times Digital
For access to New York Times Digital, full access to the NYTimes.com page and the NY Times smart phone app, register with your Manhattan University email address.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) includes more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including: journals, television and radio broadcasts,newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
Pop Culture Collection
Provides useful information from over two million articles found in over 100 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.

Magazine Databases

American Periodicals Series Online
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Economist Historical Archive
Delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2013. Full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
Forbes Magazine Archive
Contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of Forbes, beginning with its first issue in 1917 and ending in December 2000.
National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994
Brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform that fits the way today's students and patrons conduct their research. With standard library features and functionality common to many Gale resources, National Geographic Virtual Library is a powerful tool for research through the 100+ years of quality publications.
National Review Archive
National Review (NR) is a semimonthly magazine founded by author William F. Buckley, Jr., in 1955 and based in New York City. A source for conservative news, commentary, and opinion.
Nation Archive
The Nation is the oldest continuously published weekly magazine in the United States. The periodical covers politics and culture from a liberal perspective.
Vogue Archive
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

Marketing & Management Resources

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) includes more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including: journals, television and radio broadcasts,newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

How

Reading scholarly articles is challenging. Follow these tips as you peruse your articles.

Start by examining the structure and format of the article. Most scholarly, peer-reviewed articles have the same or similar structure. Many contain data and findings.

Abstract (summary of the whole article
Introduction (why they did the research)
Methodology (how they did the research)
Results (what happened; identify the findings)
Discussion (what the results mean)
Conclusion (what they learned)
References (whose research they read)

Read the abstract and conclusion first, as these have the main points.
Read the discussion next. This will give you a longer report on the findings and their implications.
At this point, if you're sure the article has what you need, start at the beginning and read the whole thing through, taking notes as you go.

Taking Notes on Scholarly Articles

Citation Mining

If you have a citation and want to find the full-text article, this is the easiest way to do so:

Identify the journal title and publication year.
Go to the library’s Journal List and type the journal title.
A list of databases will appear where you can locate the journal, followed by a date range.
Select the date range that includes your specific article and click on that database.
You will be brought directly to a listing of years available for the journal.
Select the year, volume & issue of your citation.

Communication

Subject Librarian

Contact Us