O'Malley Library: Communication: Additional Resources

Advertising

Ad * Access
Collection by Duke University of past advertisements throughout history
CLIO Awards
An annual award program that recognizes excellence in advertising, design and communications, judged by an international panel. Information about past winners is on their site.
Life Magazine Archive
Google hosts the Life Magazine Archive from 1936-1972. You can browse single issues by choosing their cover from the line up. You can choose a five-year span by choosing a link below Browse by Issue and then clicking on the cover for the date you are interested in
National Museum of American History: Advertisements
The Smithsonian's collection of advertisements, packaging and other media items
Newspaper Navigator
A project of the Library of Congress that allows you to search through newspaper photographs from 1900-1963. All available images are in the public domain. You can't search just for advertisements, but if you type in a particular brand or product you can scroll through the results and just select the ones which are ads.

Many of our historical periodical or newspaper archives and databases can be used to browse or search back issues for old advertisements

Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2013. Full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the 19th and 20th centuries. To find advertisements, go to the Advanced Search page, choose Advertisement as the document type. You can then enter in the date-range for the era of advertisements you are interested in, and add in a search term for what kind of item you are interested in seeing advertisements for.
Forbes Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains digitized copies for Forbes from 1917-2000. Unfortunately there isn't a mechanism to search exclusively through ads, however if you were interested in who was advertising to businesspeople of various eras, you can browse individual issues by clicking on a pdf for a date you are interested in and using the navigation tools on the left side of the pdf. Many articles have ads that appear alongside them.
Gale News Vault This link opens in a new window
Cross-search all the Gale newspaper archives using a single interface. On the Advanced Search Page you can select that Advertising is the section that you wish to search, and in the top search menu, type in the keyword for the item you want to find advertisements for.
National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994 This link opens in a new window
The searchable platform for the National Geographic Magazine. On the Advanced search page you can select Advertisements as the Content Type that you are interested in. Then with other search options you can select the date range you are interested in and type in the keyword for the kind of product you are interested in advertisements for into the search bar.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. On the Advanced Search Page, select Advertisement as the Document Type and select the date range you are interested in. You can add keywords about the product you are interested in as a search term as well

Broadcasting

Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Contains archival footage as well as recent broadcast uploads of television, movies and other media
British Pathe
An online archive of British historical newsreel and advertising footage.
C-Span's Video Library
Contains footage of government coverage as well as interviews of notable figures
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Collection of video, transcripts or other information on decades of public television broadcasting in the United States

Journalism

The American Press Institute
A nonprofit organization that aims to help the news media into the digital age.
Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting
A media watch-dog group looking to expose bias in media coverage
A Guide to Accessing Public Records for the First Time
Syracuse University Guide to making FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) Requests.
Journalist's Resource
A compilation of research from Harvard on various current news topics.
Pew Research Center - Journalism and Media
Section of the Pew Research Center's website devoted to media and journalism trends
Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
News and resources about reporters' rights under the law and the first amendment
Society of Professional Journalists: Journalist's Toolbox
A collection of links to various tips and tools for different facets of journalism
Whois.com
A link that will allow you to investigate who owns a domain of a website that ends in .com
Ground.news
A site that measures how often certain news stories are covered in news sources on the left, center and right.

Public Opinion Information

Pew Research Center
A non partisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
Gallup Poll
One of the best known sources on public opinion polling information.
Roper Center: 20 Questions a Journalist Should Ask About Poll Results
A resource for what questions should be asked about poll results to determine what information they have.
Harris Poll
Search through the polling group's archive based on topic, year, and several different subject groups.
PollingReport
An independent non-partisan resource on trends in American public opinion. NOTE: It doesn't appear that this site has been updated since 2022 so seek other sources for more current data

Public Relations

Institute of Public Relations - Research
Commentary and collections of various papers regarding public relations
The Holmes Report
Reporting and Analysis on global public relations trends.

Trade Journals

Trade journals are periodicals with an audience and authors from within a particular industry concentrating on latest trends, products and news. From within multidisciplinary databases, you can filter your results to just these publications by selecting the source type of "Trade Journal" or "Trade Publication". Some of these publications include the below, but there are others you can find in our databases as well.

Communication

Subject Librarian

Contact Us