O'Malley Library: International Studies: United Nations

A Guide to the United Nations' Online Resources

A comprehensive guide to the online data repositories and resources by Lisa DeLuca is available at United Nations:Online data repositories and resources at College & Research Library News. For the research guide here, we've picked the databases with the broadest subject matter included or collecting many kinds of data about a whole region. The C&RL link is good for if you are focused on a specific facet of global concerns (environment, public health, trade, for example)

United Nations Policy and Documents

UNdata
Comprehensive database which includes most major statistical resources of international statistics from the United Nations.
UN Development Programme Evaluation Resource Center
Fulltext database of UNDP project documents from the 1990s-present
United Nations
The United Nations is an international organization committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.
United Nations Treaty Collection
A collection of treaties or international agreements deposited, registered or published by the U.N.
UN ODS: Official Documents of the United Nations
Contains full-text documents published by the UN from 1993 onward including the documents of the Security Council, the Assembly, the Economic & Social Council and their subsidiaries, administrative documents and others. From 1946-1993, only the documents that have been digitized are online including resolutions of principal councils, documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records.
UN Security Council Documents
Resolutions, statements, and reports of the UN Security Council.

UN-Collected Regional or Country Information

African Centre for Statistics
A center for data on economic, social, demographic and environmental conditions in African countries, run by the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa.
CountryData
A data and visualization tool from the UN Statistics division to track countries' development indicators
Digital Repository of Economic Comission for Latin America and the Caribbean
Links to information systems regarding economic and social development in the Latin American & Caribbean region
Economic Commission for Europe
A statistical database for the Economic Commission for Europe that contains overviews and information on demographics, economics, development, transportation and more. It has tools to allow you to make charts, tables, maps and graphs of this information.
United Nations Committee on Human Rights
Contains access to information and news by country as well as the annual reports filed by the UN
World DataBank
From the World Bank. World Development Indicators plus other international indicators.

International Studies

Ask Us

Contact Us

A Guide to the United Nations' Online Resources

United Nations Policy and Documents

UN-Collected Regional or Country Information