Camino Program: Welcome to the library resource for professional career information: Internet e-Dictionaries & Thesauri

Heinle's Newbury House Dictionary of American English contains over 40,000 entries.

With simple, clear definitions, this online tool provides a wealth of sample sentences and idioms.

• Activity Guide in printable PDF for crosswords, crossword challenges, and quizzes.
  

The Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English (LDOCE)

• 5,000 natural examples bring English to life
• British and American pronunciations of headwords, including people and place names
• NEW 88,000 spoken example sentences pronounced on the CD-ROM
• 1 million additional sentences from books and newspapers
• 3000 most frequent words in spoken and written English highlighted
• 4000 new words and meanings
• Includes an instructional guide
  

The Merriam Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus is an online dictionary and thesaurus.  In addition to definitions, synonyms, homynyms, etc., there are many fun learning tools that  include

• Games

• Language trends

• " Word of the day"

• Language rights and issues

• Grammar tips

• Videos

• History of a word/s

• Confusing words

• Quizzes

• Scrabble

A user-friendly way to learn new English words and expressions.

The Internet Picture Dictionary is a picture dictionary of words in English.  It is organzied by subjects or categories such as animals, appliances, body parts, musical instruments, transportation, etc.  

Search feature by category

• A-Z Search List

• Search by languages: English, French, German, Italian and Spanish

• Straight Recall and self-correction

• Fill-in-the-blanks and self-correction

• Word Scramble and self-correction

• Stinky Spelling and self correction

Thesaurus.com

      Dictionary.com

• Translate common expressions
• Learn the "word of the day"
• Listen to pronunciation of words